Keynote Speakers and Faculty, Boston, DEM 2017
Keynote Speakers and Faculty
Registration Hotel and Travel Schedule of Events Program Guide Faculty


Keynote Speakers

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, FRCP

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, FRCP is President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement and former Administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. A pediatrician by background, Dr. Berwick has served on the faculty of the Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Public Health, and on the staffs of Boston's Children's Hospital Medical Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, and the Brigham and Women's Hospital. He currently serves as Lecturer in the Department of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School.


Amy C. Edmondson, PhD, AM, Harvard University

Amy C. Edmondson is the Novartis Professor of Leadership and Management and Senior Associate Dean, Culture & Community at Harvard Business School. Dr. Edmondson is an expert on organizational behavior, including how leadership, team formation and a culture of psychological safety affects team outcomes. She holds a PhD in organizational behavior, AM in psychology, and AB in engineering and design, all from Harvard University.

She has written extensively on the effect of teamwork in healthcare including: Building the Future: Big Teaming for Audacious Innovation (Berrett-Koehler, 2016) and Teaming: How Organizations Learn, Innovate and Compete in the Knowledge Economy (JosseyBass, 2012).


David Mayer, MD, MedStar Health

David Mayer, MD, is Vice President of Quality and Safety for MedStar Health. He is responsible for overseeing the infrastructure for clinical quality and its operational efficiency for MedStar and each of its entities. Dr. Mayer also designs and directs system wide activity for patient safety and risk reduction programs. Dr. Mayer was presented with the 2017 Humanitarian Award from the Patient Safety Movement Foundation for his lifesaving achievements in patient safety, and most recently, Dr. Mayer was named by Becker’s Hospital Review as one of 50 Experts Leading the Patient Safety Field.



Megan Baker
Paul Bergl, MD, Medical College of Wisconsin
Denise Connor, MD, UCSF and San Francisco VA Medical Center
Karen Cosby, MD, CPPS, Rush Medical College
Carmel Crock, MBBS, FACEM, BLitt, Emergency Department, Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital, Melbourne, Victoria, AU

Pat Croskerry, MD, PhD, FRCP (Edin), Dalhousie University
Gurpreet Dhaliwal, MD, University of California San Francisco
Io Dolka, MSc, Managing Director, GreyZone, Former Executive Director, Washington State Health Advocacy Association
Laurie Drill-Mellum, MD, MPH, Constellation
Robert El-Kareh, MD, MPH, MS, UC San Diego
Paul Epner, MBA, Med, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine
Patricia Folcarelli, RN,MA, PhD, Interim Vice President, Health Care Quality, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Traber Giardina, PhD, MSW, Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Kelly Gleason, RN, BSN, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
Mark Graber, MD, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine
Penny Greenberg, MS, RN, CPPS, CRICO Strategies
Regina Greer-Smith, Master of Public Health - Fellow, American College of Healthcare Executives, Healthcare Research Associates, LLC
Helen Haskell, MA, President, Mothers Against Medical Error
Wolf Hautz, MD, MME, Inselspital University Hospital Berne
Harry Hoar III, MD, Baystate Medical Center
Rebecca Jones, MBA, BSN, RN, CPHRM, CPPS, Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority
Michael Kanter, MD, The Permanente Federation & The Southern California Permanente Medical Group
Linda, Kenney, ADME, MITSS Medically Induced Trauma Support Services, Inc.
Alisa Khan, MD, MPH, Pediatric Hospitalist, Boston Children's Hospital, Instructor in Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School, Project Leader, Patient and Family Centered I-PASS Study
Michael Laposata, MD-PhD, University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston
Susan Mann, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/ QualBridge Institute
Stephen Martin, MD, EdM, Barre Family Health Center | University of Massachusetts Medical School
Benji Mathews, MD, FACP, CLHM, HealthPartners and University of Minnesota Medical School
Ashley N.D. Meyer, PhD, Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness and Safety, Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, Houston, TX
Sandra Monteiro, PhD, McMaster University
Elizabeth Mort, MD, MPH, Mass General, Partners HealthCare
Timothy Mosher, MD, Penn State Health
David Newman-Toker, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Geoffrey Norman, PhD, McMaster University
Larry Pennings, MA, DMin, Jefferson Center, St. Paul, MN
Andrew P.J. Olson, MD, University of Minnesota
Kathleen Rea, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, PCCN, CNL, UVA Health System
Joseph Rencic, MD, Tufts Medical Center
Mark E. Reynolds
Diana Rusz, BA in Psychology, Master's in Public Health (MPH), Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine
Ruth Ryan, RN, BSN, MSW, CPHRM, RiskWriter LLC
Doug Salvador, MD, MPH, Baystate Medical Center
Lisa Sanders, MD, FACP, Yale University School of Medicine
Gordon Schiff, MD, Brigham and Women's Hospital Center for Patient Safety Research
Sue Sheridan, MBA, MIM, DH,L, Co-founder and President Emerita of Consumers Advancing Patient Safety, Board of Directors, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine
Dana Siegal, RN, CPHRM, CPPS, CRICO Strategies
Arabella Simpkin, MA (Oxon), BMBCh, MRCPCH, MMSc, Massachusetts General Hospital
Lorie Slass, MA, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine
Brent Smith
William Strull, MD, The Permanente Federation
Robert Trowbridge, MD, Tufts University School of Medicine and Maine Medical Center
Leslie Tucker, BA, L Tucker Consulting
Peggy Zuckerman, BA, UND; MS in ED, USC; Patient Advocacy Certificate, UCLA, PeggyRCC
Laura Zwann, PhD, Institute of Medical Education Research Rotterdam, ErasmusMC